Edits, Revision, and Rewrites, Oh My!

Thought I would give an update to where I am with The Shulim Cycle Book of Susan.

Draft Five.

That is the editing draft I am on now, with the Permanent Editor finishing the last chapters of Draft Four and soon to begin the chapters finished so far (1 as of this posting, but I’m into 2) once those are done.

Whoever says that self-published authors don’t edit did not meet me. Personally, I find it easier to edit something not my own work but … one does what one needs to.

So, what great insights do I have from this edit?

Allow time to flow for itself and characters to speak for themselves.

By that I mean … well pretty much that. I have found that I rely on simple gestures (nods, smiles, etc), words like “moment”, and “said” and its variations in my writing. This is not bad, per se. Nods, smiles, saids, and moments all have their place in prose. I think I over use them, and the PE agrees. Well, technically the PE thought I overused them and I agreed, but this is my blog, not his. 😀

So, this edit, I am looking at ways to move my story along without having to rely on simple conventions. So simple gestures get replaced with something more in depth or showy. Or, in a few cases, removed altogether. Said gets replaced by actions or thoughts to back up dialogue. And unless it is absolutely necessary, phrases like “for a few moments”, “moments ago”, etc are being deleted period.

Honestly, I don’t miss the words. I think they make the prose stronger and that helps the story come across the page.

And that’s the update and insight.

Good writing and reading everyone!

Happymeerkatreviews

Trusted Honest Book Reviews ~ Poetry ~ Other Musings

maria writing

girl abroad

holledolce.wordpress.com/

Explore Fantasy and Submission through the Gates of Haven

On the Scene

Holle's thoughts on BDSM and erotica

A WORD FITLY SPOKEN

Informing and Motivating Creative Writers to Excel

jimgoforthhorrorauthor

Horror author. Extreme metal fanatic. Husband. Father.

Stuart Elkeino

The Writer

Words Are My Life!

I'm always willing to share my thoughts - and poetry - and feelings - and opinions...

A look inside the mind of a writer.

Writing, Humor, Advice, Parenthood and Oddness. All in one place.

Mary Ann Moody

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. -Ernest Hemingway

ronaldpaxton

In my own words - an author's life

Cole Thoughts

.... a socio-political viewpoint.

Daily Journey - S. Cole Johnson

Take this spiritual walk with me.

Who Should Have Won the Oscars?

Robert James, WHO Won?!? An Irreverent Look at the Oscars

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Marc Richard

Books. For people.

