Out of the Darkness and into the Light of Day

I know, it’s a bit melodramatic for someone who has merely left employment to come home, spend time with the kid, right, and finish a degree. I can’t help myself, though. There is something about waking up the first morning after your last day at work, knowing that you don’t have to go back.

No more people yelling at you, cursing you, and telling you what a horrible human being you are.

Why yes, I did work in Customer Service. How did you ever guess? To be specific, I worked as an escalation representative for a major bank.

Hey wait! Where are you going?

Okay, I know. Banks, especially the big ones, have a bad reputation. Believe it or not, though, working for one does not require checking your soul at the door. I didn’t have to sign forms in triplicate to get it back when I left.

Of course, I’m not defending them either. They have the reps they have for a reason.

But I’m not really concerned about that. To be perfectly honest, I don’t bare my previous employer any ill will. While the job could be taxing at times, I did enjoy it. It had some high points, it had some low points.

In other words, it was a job.

But it was not the career I wanted, which is ultimately why I left.

But I digress.

I’m not really concerned about justifying or demystifying the reputations that companies have. I am thinking, though, that I would like to write about my experiences, not just with my previous employer, but in the financial industry itself. I’ve worked for a brokerage firm, a small regional bank, and a big mega-bank. looking at it, I have a lot of experience I can draw upon and write about. So, yeah, I’m adding a new section to the Writer’s Manifest: my Memoir.

I hope you enjoy.

Happymeerkatreviews

Trusted Honest Book Reviews ~ Poetry ~ Other Musings

maria writing

girl abroad

holledolce.wordpress.com/

Explore Fantasy and Submission through the Gates of Haven

On the Scene

Holle's thoughts on BDSM and erotica

A WORD FITLY SPOKEN

Informing and Motivating Creative Writers to Excel

jimgoforthhorrorauthor

Horror author. Extreme metal fanatic. Husband. Father.

Stuart Elkeino

The Writer

Words Are My Life!

I'm always willing to share my thoughts - and poetry - and feelings - and opinions...

A look inside the mind of a writer.

Writing, Humor, Advice, Parenthood and Oddness. All in one place.

Mary Ann Moody

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. -Ernest Hemingway

ronaldpaxton

In my own words - an author's life

Cole Thoughts

.... a socio-political viewpoint.

Daily Journey - S. Cole Johnson

Take this spiritual walk with me.

Who Should Have Won the Oscars?

Robert James, WHO Won?!? An Irreverent Look at the Oscars

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Marc Richard

Books. For people.

