Wh-where am I?

Have you missed me, gentle readers and fellow writers? Never fear. I’m still around. Work … oh work. Life has been busy. Somewhere in between I have been working on The Shulim Cycle Book of Susan and trying to get StreetWraith Press going again.

To update … I’m still working on Book of Susan. I’m taking my time with it, allowing myself the time to make sure I have every scene I want in the book. I’m also trying to save up for professional editing. We’re hoping for an Agent, but I’ll be happy to self-publish it once its done. I’m thinking, if I can swing it price-wise, that I may have Book of Dahlia professionally edited as well. It still has a few mistakes in there and could use a bit more polish that I’m capable of.

I got an itch to work on my science fiction idea as well. Dystopia this one is. I had originally thought to give it a happy-ish ending. Looking at the idea again, I don’t want to do that. The inspiration for it is not happy – at all. Why should the story get to end happy? No, I’m thinking I should keep the story true to its inspiration. The difficulty: plot. Well, not plot per se. I mean, I have the plot. Events that carry the plot, I think, are the problem. You always want to see something happen in a story that gets wrapped up somehow. You know, so in so falls in love with who’s it. Frodo takes the Ring to Mt. Doom. With this one, I don’t really want to do that. I want to carry the reader through a milieu and let them really feel what has happened to this world. That will be challenging, because at no point in this eventless story can I allow the reader to feel stagnated or bogged down.  I will need, I realize, to come up with mini-events that don’t feel like events. At the end of the story, I want my reader to come away having been enraptured, but when they are asked “what is this story about?” I don’t want them to answer with an event. I want them to answer with an effect.

Anyway… it’s short fiction. I don’t see it being more than a few thousand words unless I come upon something that really grabs at me. I’m going to try, I think, to get it published in a magazine. Here’s hoping on that.

Well, off to other things. Good writing all!

Happymeerkatreviews

Trusted Honest Book Reviews ~ Poetry ~ Other Musings

maria writing

girl abroad

holledolce.wordpress.com/

Explore Fantasy and Submission through the Gates of Haven

On the Scene

Holle's thoughts on BDSM and erotica

A WORD FITLY SPOKEN

Informing and Motivating Creative Writers to Excel

jimgoforthhorrorauthor

Horror author. Extreme metal fanatic. Husband. Father.

Stuart Elkeino

The Writer

Words Are My Life!

I'm always willing to share my thoughts - and poetry - and feelings - and opinions...

A look inside the mind of a writer.

Writing, Humor, Advice, Parenthood and Oddness. All in one place.

Mary Ann Moody

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. -Ernest Hemingway

ronaldpaxton

In my own words - an author's life

Cole Thoughts

.... a socio-political viewpoint.

Daily Journey - S. Cole Johnson

Take this spiritual walk with me.

Who Should Have Won the Oscars?

Robert James, WHO Won?!? An Irreverent Look at the Oscars

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Marc Richard

Books. For people.

