Editing and agents

Going through my list of agents for my first round of sending. If I get a positive response, I’ll post the letter that I’m using (I don’t see a point of posting it if it doesn’t work. Wouldn’t be much help to other authors now, would it?). Difficulty: I’m not just selling a book. I’m selling a series. I’m hopeful that having two books done – and I’m going to be starting the third soon – will help to offset the difficulty of selling a series to an agent.

So far, I haven’t found an agent that wants more than three chapters for submissions, so I’m going through my first three with a fine-toothed comb and cleaning them up. I’ll be doing this the whole way through the book, obviously, though I’ll probably be most carefully with 1, 2, & 3. I’m still planning on hiring an editor for the book, but I’ll may be sending out the first batch of queries before that edit is done. Good practice for myself, anyway. I hate editing, but I need to get better at doing it. Right now, I’m focused on cleaning up the language and flow of sentences – getting rid of unnecessary words and changing passive to active when necessary. Passive has its place, but not overly done.

Language is another thing that I needed to work on. Darius – whom we meet in the opening chapter – has arrived to Paris from London, but in my original draft, lo though I heard the voice in my head, I did not give an indication of what language or dialect he spoke in. In the first chapter, he’s being shadowed by a girl and wonders at her origins – is she native to France, American, a student, etc – so when she speaks, it is kind of important to indicate to the reader what she sounds like – something else that I heard in the first draft but failed to bring out.

And this, my friends, is what editing an revision is for.

That said, good night friends. And good writing.

Happymeerkatreviews

Trusted Honest Book Reviews ~ Poetry ~ Other Musings

maria writing

girl abroad

holledolce.wordpress.com/

Explore Fantasy and Submission through the Gates of Haven

On the Scene

Holle's thoughts on BDSM and erotica

A WORD FITLY SPOKEN

Informing and Motivating Creative Writers to Excel

jimgoforthhorrorauthor

Horror author. Extreme metal fanatic. Husband. Father.

Stuart Elkeino

The Writer

Words Are My Life!

I'm always willing to share my thoughts - and poetry - and feelings - and opinions...

A look inside the mind of a writer.

Writing, Humor, Advice, Parenthood and Oddness. All in one place.

Mary Ann Moody

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. -Ernest Hemingway

ronaldpaxton

In my own words - an author's life

Cole Thoughts

.... a socio-political viewpoint.

Daily Journey - S. Cole Johnson

Take this spiritual walk with me.

Who Should Have Won the Oscars?

Robert James, WHO Won?!? An Irreverent Look at the Oscars

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Marc Richard

Books. For people.

