The Things We Writers Hate to Do

I will totally admit it.

I have the marketing bug.

So, I am on Facebook. One of the things that I have done is take advantage of Facebook’s ad service to promote my Kickstarter. This has gotten several shares and things. Hopefully, those shares and likes will also turn into donations. On that, we shall see. And I’m going to talk more about that in my next post.

I know. Two in one day!

Anyway. I’m addicted to checking out my advertising dashboard on Facebook. Its actually kind of cool watching the spike in activity. And this is just a small campaign. You see, I did something that I am going to recommend you all try, if you’ve not done this before, or if you haven’t tried using Facebook Ads before.

One thing on the Ads… it’s tough. I have heard stories of wonderful returns and stories of uselessness. To really be effective, a campaign has to be able to last. That is a tougher thing  to do when you’re on a limited budget. If you want to try it out, though, you can do so affordably.

Right now, I have The Shulim Cycle and StreetWraith Press parked on GoDaddy. All in all, I’ve been happy with them. Anyway, one of the things that any decent webhosting service will offer you is cross-marketing.

I know. I know. We all hate that. But, if you’re in business for yourself – and writing is a business just like any other, these little offers can be very valuable. I have two I am taking advantage of. The one right now is for Facebook. Through GoDaddy, I got a $50 credit, and I suspect most services will have similar offers. I set my campaign limit to $50, that way I can measure how this will work and decide how much to spend later. The second is from Google, but I haven’t used it yet. I have to spend $25 dollars first, but then I get $100 in ad dollars. I will be using it, probably for a second ad push through Google. I’ll probably save the $100 for the book release if I do that.

This ad campaign may or may not get me donations. On that, we shall see. If one ultimately comes from it, I will consider it a success. Even if none come from it, it may still be successful. At lot of people have seen the book. I won’t complain about that. More traffic, more likes, more attention, and the more likely the campaign gets traffic toward the end.

And I will have data to look at and decide how I want to handle social network marketing in the future. That will be the best thing I get from this in the long run.

Happymeerkatreviews

Trusted Honest Book Reviews ~ Poetry ~ Other Musings

maria writing

girl abroad

holledolce.wordpress.com/

Explore Fantasy and Submission through the Gates of Haven

On the Scene

Holle's thoughts on BDSM and erotica

The Baked Scribe

The words and worlds of author Chad A. Clark

A WORD FITLY SPOKEN

Informing and Motivating Creative Writers to Excel

jimgoforthhorrorauthor

Horror author. Extreme metal fanatic. Husband. Father.

Stuart Elkeino

The Writer

Words Are My Life!

My WordPress.com site

A look inside the mind of a writer.

Writing, Humor, Advice, Parenthood and Oddness. All in one place.

Mary Ann Moody

There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. -Ernest Hemingway

ronaldpaxton

In my own words - an author's life

Cole Thoughts

.... a socio-political viewpoint.

Daily Journey - S. Cole Johnson

Take this spiritual walk with me.

Who Should Have Won the Oscars?

Robert James, WHO Won?!? An Irreverent Look at the Oscars

HASTYWORDS

Turning Tears & Laughter into Words

Marc Richard

Books. For people.

